Stand Up Desks & Piriformis Syndrome

dhartmann34

Reaction score
Handicap
I've had a bunch of back problems since I was just out of high school. Much of it stems from a couple of car accidents (not my fault). But lately with all the sitting I do with my commute and at work I've had a lot more pain. Almond with that, my girlfriend Becky was just finally diagnosed (after two years of MRI's, PT, chiropractors, injections, etc...) with Piriformis syndrome....which is an absolute painful mess, with no real easy cure...if any at all.

Anyway, some of the stuff we've been researching says these standing desks really do wonders to help with back problems and I wondered if anyone out there has any experience with them or even with Piriformis Syndrome.

Sent from my HTC6500LVW using Tapatalk

I know nothing about Piriformis Syndrome. I've had no experience with stand up desks either. However, I do know that those of us who sit at a desk all day typically are hunched over and that is one possible cause of back pain. If you're standing, you're less likely to hunch over.

They also make chairs that encourage you to sit up straight.

Probably not helpful, but those are my thoughts.

~Rock

Not with the Piriformis Syndrome, but converted over to a standing desk about a year ago ... love it and would not trade it for anything. I am in I/T and sit for most of the day.

Will look at the brand I bought when I get back to my desk ... stuck in an all day business review ... but it allows me to sit and stand ... love it and highly recommend it!

Yeah I sit all day... But my gf, being an auditor, sits for 14+ hours, especially during busy season. It's brutal!

Our IT guy has a standup. He swears by it. I'd love to try it, but don't think they'd let me have one.

Our IT guy has a standup. He swears by it. I'd love to try it, but don't think they'd let me have one.

Doctor note?