Not Happy with my Irons

h0ss66

Reaction score
Guys, I posted this on another forum, but I wanted to post here to get some more opinions. I hope that's not considered tacky...and if it is, I apologize.

Anyway, here goes:

So I've only been playing Golf for about 6 months, but I've definitely caught the bug and have been improving. I picked up the TM Burner 1.0s about 4 months ago and they were okay at first but for some reason I despise them right now. They seem clunky, flimsy, and overall the feel is not inspiring confidence. I enjoy playing my Cleveland CG15 wedge much more, and in fact hit it better. Now that my swing has improved (somewhat), I can't feel the clubhead and haven't been getting great results from the Burners.

I'm not sure where to go from here, I mean its my first set of irons and obviously I'm a beginner but I don't want my equipment holding back my game, especially since I've been putting a lot of time and effort into golf so far, and have really taken to it (lessons every two weeks, playing on the weekends, 2-3 range session per week, reading up, watching videos, doing drills, etc...). I was thinking of dumping the Burners and moving on to more of a players cavity back, which I'm hoping would help me two-fold: 1) give me better feel and 2) give me feedback to really let me know how and why my swing is off.

I'm considering some Mizunos, maybe the JPX 800 Pros or MP53s. Also, the Bridgestone J38's or the Nike VR Pro combos. Most of those sets are relatively pricey so I was hoping to pick up a players cavity from last year, but I'm not sure what I should be looking for. Any advice?

Maybe I'm just way out of my league and should stick with the Burners now, but they just piss me off at the moment and when I look down at address I already feel like I'm going to screw up. Don't have that feeling with my wedges...

I say buy whatever you want buddy. If they look too clunky, then buy something that isn't as clunky.