Franklin51

On the Verge
Reaction score
Handicap
I am sure this has been discussed more times than I can count but with the super strong lofts these days how many of you care carrying more wedges? Noticed the APEX that I am leaning towards buying had a AW of 48 degrees so I am debating 52,56,60 to go with it. If you go by club numbers that would be 5 wedges which is fine for me as I dont worry about bigger yardage gaps at the top.

I am sure this has been discussed more times than I can count but with the super strong lofts these days how many of you care carrying more wedges? Noticed the APEX that I am leaning towards buying had a AW of 48 degrees so I am debating 52,56,60 to go with it. If you go by club numbers that would be 5 wedges which is fine for me as I dont worry about bigger yardage gaps at the top.

I started going 48, 54, 58-60 - I don't go for the OEM 48. I'm not a pro - lol - but see more go with this similar setup ---- and at my age I am going for distance at the long end of the bag. I am open to change

The PW's in the "players irons" category that I usually fall into, they have been around 46º for some time and I went 50,54,58 to gap them out.
Have been at those lofts for probably 15 years now? The 50 definitely gets the least use.

I have the Apex and that’s the exact set up I’m playing.

Carry the set 46°pw and 51°gw in the 919s then go to a 55 and 58 T20 wedge to fill out the bottom. I found the set wedges work for me but ymmv.:)

I have 4 wedges

PW/GW both set wedges

I have a 54/58

ordered a 50° though might swap out GW

I’ll soon have 5 wedges. The new Titleist T400 set I ordered comes with a 5-9 irons, PW is 38, then a 43, a 49 and a 55. I already have a Vokey 60.

i don't read much into a W on an iron. my iron set PW is an old school 9i in my book. the GW is an old school PW in my book. I carry 5 clubs with a W on them.