Do You Still Support Your Alma Matter?

Nappy

2024 Shaft Up #1 with UST Mamiya
Albatross 2024 Club
Reaction score
Handicap
PBR
I was having an interesting conversation with co-workers about their alma matter asking them for money. A lot of them seemed to be annoyed that this was happening and felt that their tuition in the past was more than enough. Only one was a hardcore alumni who believed he needed to support them further. I graduated from more of a tech school so I don't really have that problem and they've never once asked me for money, post graduation. I guess my personal opinion is that if I felt my school had set me up for great financial success, maybe I'd be more inclined to do so, but that wasn't really the case. And honestly sometimes I wonder if that degree is as valuable (in 2023) as it was when I graduated.

My wife noticed her school has been in the news a lot this year laying off faculty, cutting programs, yet are still building new buildings and constantly asking her for money. In the past she has given them money, but now she takes issue with them every time they try.

So all of this made me wonder.

Where did you go to college? Do you still still support them financially? No right or wrong answer, just genuinely curious.

I've recently stopped supporting my college. Carthage is a small school in Wisconsin. It said right on lake Michigan and is an absolutely beautiful place. But the president of the college gave himself a huge increase and laid off a bunch of staff. The staff voted to censure him. Not to mention there been a lot of things going on there that I don't agree with. It's where I met my wife, a lot of lifelong friends. I played golf there. I learned a lot about life and love the campus. But I refuse to support what it has become.... 😔

Unfortunately I haven’t.

Yes. Undergrad and law school. It’s not a lot. But, if my pension plan vests tonight or tomorrow night, it’ll be more!