At what point do you decide to take lessons or take them seriously.

Buckjob

My Friend's Call Me Drew
Reaction score
Handicap
So i've been taking lessons for 2 years now and from the very first lesson my instructor has told me that we need to fix my grip as its causing some issues with my swing. And pretty plain and simple i've told him NO for several reasons... Mainly being that i tried to during the first year and it was a struggle since i've been using that grip for the last 18 years of my life. and last year because i played in 6 THP events including the Championship and THPMC and i didn't want to take that step back that i knew would happen before i can take 2 steps forward. Looking at my schedule this year now that the king is over i only have the OCMD trip ahead of me competition wise and i'm really thinking about "taking the year off" and trying to get some major things fixed in my swing. I feel like i've improved in every other aspect of my game and working strictly for the most part of on my short game work last year took my game to the best its ever been but after seeing how i played at the king also made me realize a lot and kinda what i knew all along that one of the biggest reasons i've played so good for so long is because of how much i practice and play. I have a lot of time to play and practice and no matter how bad my swing is i've played for long enough that i can "bandaid" fix almost anything by putting in reps i want to Fix my swing the right way and use that time this year to hopefully be able to be more consistent and come back from the winter layoff without having so many issues cause i'll hopefully have a more solid swing to start with instead of swinging over the top and so steep and having to work it back into anything thats consistent enough to play well with.