What Should I Do?

Steel President

Reaction score
Handicap
Alright, so I'm going to have to make a bit of decision in my life soon. Here's the scenario:

I've all but been offered an opportunity to serve as a football graduate assistant at the University of Pittsburgh. Now, for those who are unfamiliar with football GA's, well, they're a highly, highly coveted position (especially at the Division 1 level). I'd be working with a position that I'm comfortable with and it could open up the opportunity to make one heck of a career coaching football. I'm the perfect age to do it - I'm 23 and single. Would I regret passing up on this opportunity?

I'm currently a middle school history teacher and I coach high school football at one of the better programs around. I have a blast and love what I'm doing.

The GA position is a once-in-a-lifetime type of offer but, obviously, I'd go from making really solid money to making a meager stipend (and have my education, meals, clothing, etc. all paid for as well).

What would you do? Pursue the 'dream' of making football my full-time living or stick with the safe, comfortable position that I'm currently enjoying?

Tough call. So, I figured I'd see what advice THP had to offer.

At your age that's a no-brainer to me. Take the opportunity. As long as you can afford to pay your bills of course.

If you can make enough to pay your bills and not starve, do it! You're young and not tied down so this could be your best opportunity to do what you really want to do.

The stipend would be enough to pay my bills - I also have a little stashed away.

I do still live at home with my father but with the hours I'd put in I'd have to find some sort of small apartment.

You're young. I wouldn't pass the opportunity up. You have the rest of your life to work a boring job. But if you pass up the GA position, you will spend the rest of your days wondering "what if?"