The 60 and over Thread

My Uncle was a "country club pro" before WWII. I have no idea if he was a member of the PGA of America or not, but I know he played in Monday qualifiers and played in some pro tournaments like the old Hershey Open, Pittsurgh Open and Pennsyvania Open back in his day. He was my main source of instruction when I started learning the game, and one of his admonitions for me was that if I was going to copy a swing, to copy a lady pro! He felt that their swings were more textbook, while many men's swings were idiosyncratic.

We used to have an LPGA tournament in this area and would always go out to watch. These days I go to watch the YSU Ladie's Invitational in September and an AJGA tournament both held at a local course. I've seen some of these college women hit the ball as far as I could when I was their age and playing the best gol of my life!

Glad the lessons are working out for you, and you and the instructor have synced up.
I agree and watching the LPGA players have great tempo and solid swing mechanics.

Was there reason for you to think about making the change?
No specific reason for making the grip change. Like I said, I am always tinkering, whether it be with weights, adapter settings, swapping out different wedges, irons or even putters almost on a round-to-round basis looking for that magic.

Played 18 with the wife today at Lake Tansi GC. $76 with carts for 2 was a pretty good deal. I played it at 5600 yards, but I could have backed up a set of tees. Bluegrass fairways, poaanna greens. The greens ran really true, but they were really firm. Holding greens was a problem. I hit a lot of shots that ended up over. I thought the course played shorter than the yardage. However, it a good track and I’d play it again. 7 fairways, 7 GIR, 29 putts 38-43 81.