How to hit a flop shot.

Bullfrog

Team Hackers 4EVA!!!
Reaction score
Handicap
Full swing
Everyone here knows that I am an amateur golfer. Like most, I struggle with my short game around the green. I can chip decently as long as I don't need to flop shot it. I can bump and run the ball pretty good, just off aim a little but that can be fixed. I don't know how to hit a flop shot. I know that I need to have that shot in my bag for my game to be where I would like it to be. There are plenty of times during my rounds that I need the ball to stop just after it hits the green. Plus when I need to put it close while chipping to a down slope of the green. When I bump and run it, I can't get the ball to stop. So, I struggle witth those too. Any of you have tips on "flopping"? I would really like to learn this shot and know that I need it.

Thanks Thainer... I appreciate you finding that. It's very informative. I guess I also need to get a 60* or 64* wedge to chip with. I normally just chip with my 9 iron. What clubs do most of you chip with?

I chip with my hybrid, PW and 54. Chipping with a 60 or 64 leads to major inconsistencies. I would stick to your current method bro, and adjust your club selection based on loft needed. Dont run to a 60 for short shots, its one of the worst things you can do. Keep with what your comfortable. You can hit all the shots with your current setup, just practice and youll get it.
Thanks Thainer... I appreciate you finding that. It's very informative. I guess I also need to get a 60* or 64* wedge to chip with. I normally just chip with my 9 iron. What clubs do most of you chip with?