What should be on my swing-fix checklist?

Joshzilla

Secret Agent
Reaction score
Handicap
First of all, thank you to GolfTEC and THP for making this available. It's very cool of all involved.

I started playing golf about 2 years ago. Started with 5 lessons from a PGA Pro and then went on my merry way. I have had ups and downs in performance and lately I have really been fighting push/slices. Personally, I am always looking to learn something new and so I read all of the applicable golf magazines and have studied books from Nicholous, Watson, Mickelson and McLean (you'll probably see the McLean bit in my swing).

My swing usually feels pretty ok, but I haven't been happy with my consistency. This week I decided to step things up and start recording my swing so I could see what I'm doing wrong (and right). I see a bunch of stuff, but would like to get the opinion and tips of a pro. I really appreciate the help!

I know I am hooding the clubface on my takeaway (and my takeaway is probably a little quick).

I think I have a lot of good stuff going on here, but I didn't realize how much I squatted in my downswing. Is this a bad thing? I feel like it might be causing a slight chicken wing at impact which is maybe causing my push/slice.

Practicing in sneakers is a bad idea...but it is what it is. Still hooding that clubface! :angry:

[video=youtube;NlF-EiFJKHc]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NlF-EiFJKHc[/video]
Last one. This is from last night. It didn't feel 100% great, but was okay.

So these are a little embarrassing...kinda like being in front of class with your pants down. They're not all my best swings, but I'm going to learn more from my failures right? What's the prognosis, doc? Is there hope!?

Seriously, I appreciate any help and/or tips that you can share.

Joshzilla,