1860VS

Albatross 2024 Club
Reaction score
Handicap
My Brain
Some say more offset can cause a case of the hooks. Others say more offset only leads to greater shot height. What do you believe offset does?

I'm not an expert in this stuff, but i've always found with my swing i actually hit clubs with more offset a bit straighter. If i play blades or small CBs with no or minimal offset i tend to naturally draw them a bit more.

This could also be a bit more related to spin characteristics too

I have no idea outside the idea that it helps high cappers. I don’t even understand the theory behind that.

I have no idea outside the idea that it helps high cappers. I don’t even understand the theory behind that.
Offset in theory gives you more time to close the club face. In the case of higher handicaps it probably preforms a function similar to moving the ball forward in the stance so you put a bit of a fade/straighter shot on the ball.

more time to close the face is the theory i think.

Getting the right grip, as far as a "strong", or "weak" grip, is the fix for most folks, who slice. The offset is a help in this regard. Getting the clubface square at impact, and swing path are the main causes of slicing. Offset is said to help with this...

Getting the right grip, as far as a "strong", or "weak" grip, is the fix for most folks, who slice. The offset is a help in this regard. Getting the clubface square at impact, and swing path are the main causes of slicing.

Sadly I'm a path person. Grip really only messes with my strike quality 😭