High launch + high spin with the driver

ryebread

Reaction score
Handicap
Googolplex
My driving has just been all over the map over the last year. I think I'll get it fixed and then it goes away again. I'm not a long player, due to a fairly short turn and low club head speed (about 85 with the driver), but I'm still not maximizing what I have.

I'm also self taught for the most part. Early in my golf career I took lessons, but I haven't since I started back after a 10 year lapse. It's been 3 years and my new swing is fairly grooved in (which is good and bad).

Long story short, I've been on the monitor some recently and see both high launch angles and high spin numbers. We're talking 20-22 degrees of launch and 3000+ backspin average on many drivers. On the course that results in a beautiful looking shot that goes quite high, lands and just stops. With a low loft, low spin setup, I can get it down to about 15-17 and 2100-2500. I can occasionally hit it that way on the course and get some nice roll out.

Ball flight is always left to right or straight. The only time I hit it left is on a pull or mishit off the heel. When driving goes to pot, like it is right now, the mishit is a push slice (ugh). That suggests OTT and not squaring the face.

I hit the ball high on the club's face which raises the effective launch angle. I've been working to lower that by lowering the tee height and moving the ball forward in the stance. Moving it forwards though makes the left to right ball movement. Going OTT (as indicated by the slicing action) probably raises the effective loft as well.

To help me square the club, I've been using the trick to ground the driver at address several inches behind the ball. It helps me close the hands up, and SHOULD give me an ascending swing plane.