Etiquette? How do you tend the Flagstick?

Fourputt

Head Rules Official
Reaction score
Handicap
Just wondering. There was a post on another thread about whether men or women use better etiquette on the course, and this is sort of a pet peeve for me. I was taught the proper way to tend the flagstick in caddy training when I was 12, and even though it wasn't until many years later that I started playing golf, that early training stuck.

I'll post later on how I was taught to do it. :D

First, I make sure my shadow is on the other side of the hole and does not overshadow the hole. I take the pin out and hold it inside the hole but not straight up and down (so I don't encounter any problem pulling the pin out). The arm not holding the pin is behind my back, and I stand away and back from the hole while holding the pin. I keep my feet together and stand very still.

I think that's everything I do.

Fourputt - I was taught that the person who is closest pulls it and lays it gently on the green away from where anyone could putt. The person who putts out first replaces it. If they pick it up before everyone is finished putting - they hold it upside down or hold the flag to the stick so it doesn't flap around. Other than that - I'm not sure what you're asking.

When I am asked to tend the flag, I first stand as far away as comfortable while holding the flag perpendicular to the ground. I check that the flagstick is not stuck in the bottom of the hole, and pull it out partially so it doesn't stick if I need to pull it after the stroke.

I insure that I am not casting a shadow over the hole or line of putt and I also stand erect with my offside arm either at my side or behind my back. I am careful not to step on someone else's line while doing the tending.

Right or wrong, that is my technique.

If I am closest to the pin (i.e., last to putt) and no one wants it tended, I pull the pin and carry it to the fringe and lay it down.