Getting New Clubs! Am I missing anything?

TwoSolitudes

Swingin' for the fences
Reaction score
So as some may know I have a new job in Bangkok and to reward myself, my wife is allowing me to get new irons and new fairway woods. How about that? The Xli's have been great to me, but lately I find I am hitting them really really high and I would like to go back to a more traditional iron. The XLS fairway woods have also been great and in fact the sole of the 7 wood is almost worn out but I would love to find a model with a 3/4 wood I can hit from the deck.

So I have set up a fitting session at Golftown in Canada (where I am going for a week). I am no pro, so I am looking for point and shoot irons. Easy to swing easy to hit with a bit more distance than the XLi's. Probably a 5-PW set as I have hybrids from 3-5 that I love. They have suggested the following to test

Adams Tech V3
Nike Machspeed
Callaway Diablo Edge
Cobra S3
Ping G15
TM Superlaunch

Any other models I should be looking at. Don't want to be overwhelmed with choices, but I do want to ensure I have a good selection of easy irons to choose from.

For the fairway woods, I want a low profile model. The 7 is my workhorse but I would love to have a 4 or HL 3 I can get off the deck with confidence. They have suggested these:

Cleveland FL
Ping G15
Ping K15
Adams F11 Slotline
TM Superfast 2.0

Anything missing here- other than that super low profile Maruman JB was testing which goes for over 1000 bucks!

Last edited:
TS, I know you are a big Cleveland guy like myself yet you do not mention the Mashie? C'mon man!! Get on the Mashie train. As for irons for you, it sounds like our games are similar, I have really liked the Cobra s3 irons recently and there is always the HB3 irons from Cleveland. The Burner 2.0 irons are nice but they are a little pricier that the other two. I also liked the Ping g15 irons and hybrids.