New to Site, brief intro--Swing Questions

peacedog

Reaction score
Handicap
Howdy all,
Just found this site and couldn't be more pleased with it:D I have been playing now for 2 years. I am pretty much self taught, with some help from my friends (good golfers, but not instructors). I have really focused on my short game, mainly cause the local course has a great practice area and I can't afford it any other way. My short game is good, especially considering I haven't played all that long and the rest of my game is iffy.

Since I have a lot of free time in the summer I try to practice at least an hour a day. I usually hit my shag bag, roughly 80 balls, a few times anywhere from 50 to 80 yds. I am getting real good with feel from doing this. I usually putt for a while too. Right now I play a couple times a month, would play more but the rest of my game is inconsistent. My last 10 rounds of nine have all been between 46-48. I have plateaued and know its because of my distance and over the top swing.

I recently met with a local pro who helped me understand what I was doing wrong. We worked on dropping my arm in the downswing instead of moving my hands in classic over the top form. He also had me really work on bringing my right arm over, rotating as I hit the ball. I went out the next day and hit better than I ever hit before. I was swinging effortlessly and the ball was getting distance I have always wanted. I couldn't believe how different the feel was.