Bridgestone e6 Review

imscottr

I Like Show Tunes!
Reaction score
Handicap
I am no ball expert by any means, but I thought I’d share my thoughts regarding the Bridgestone e6.

A little history – I went to the Bridgestone ball fitting that was held at a local course, but it was canceled due to rain. I caught the Bridgestone guys coming out of the club house and I struck up a conversation. (Very cool guys to chat with.) They asked me a few questions regarding my game, and they handed me a sleeve of e6’s. The guy told me that the e6 would probably be a good place to start without seeing my swing. So after hitting the mini sleeve they gave me, I picked up a dozen.

I’ve played a few rounds with them, but was really able to put them through the paces the past few days by playing 72 holes in two days.

Off the tee – I’m not a masher by any means. When I’m in my rhythm, I can drive the ball between 230-240 yards. I noticed that with the e6, I picked up around 5-8 yards in distance. Nothing huge, but every little bit helps. My drives are pretty consistent. I normally just try to keep it in the fairway, but if there’s a wide open area, I’ll reach back and try and go for it. This is a gamble swing for me. When I go after it, I get lose on my downswing and swing out to in, giving myself a really nice slice. And when I do slice it, it’s ugly. It’s normally a 45-50 yard slice. Here is where the e6 really shined, in my opinion. There were a few holes I tried to get on it. One in particular - I teed off on an elevated tee and went after it. The slice reared its ugly head, but the e6 tamed it. It’s almost like the e6 put breaks on the side spin. Is it a miracle ball? Absolutely not – but it kept my 45 yard slice to a 25 yard slice. I was really impressed at how this ball behaved off the tee.