Some advice on picking a set of irons please!

China Cat>Rider

Dazed & Cornfused
Reaction score
I'm finally ready to get a real set of irons. I have been golfing for about 3 years and am starting to get half decent. The irons I have been using are no-name components.

I'm unfortunately on a tight budget and am going to buy something from callway preowned. I have it narrowed down to 3 sets.

1-Callaway Fusions (Not FT fusions)
2-Callaway X-20
3-Mizuno MX-900

I have them ranked in my personal preference but unfortunately that is also the rank in cost too. I have tried all of them out on the range and the course. Can anyone share their experience on any of these? The price difference, even though they are used, are somewhat substantial at least to my bleak budget.

I think I could live with any of them for a few years but was curious to hear any of the "experts" outlook.

come on...nobody has any feedback for me? I'm extremely indecisive...help me out! :D

Mizuno. Get fitted too.

Ive never been a fan of callaways stuff until this years line/

sorry china cat, i've not hit any of those. i game the 22's and love them and there are those out there that swear the 20's are better, whatever that's worth. good luck man, i wish i could help but i'm gonna watch this one from the sidelines.

Mizuno. Get fitted too.

Ive never been a fan of callaways stuff until this years line/

i've never been a fan of mizuno, so i say stick with the cally's.

+1.....

sorry china cat, i've not hit any of those. i game the 22's and love them and there are those out there that swear the 20's are better, whatever that's worth. good luck man, i wish i could help but i'm gonna watch this one from the sidelines.

Just to throw out a few other options.

What about a used set from ebay? Not a private seller, but somewhere like 3balls or global golf?

How about one of the Wilson Staff sets from a couple years ago like the Ci7 or Di7? You can pick up either one for 3-400.00.