Older Driver Recommendations?

derelict

In the trees
Reaction score
Handicap
short game
I need a new driver... I hit a R9 460 and a Ping G15 at Roger Dunn the other day and I like these clubs alot... but I do not like the price.

So I am thinking of trying to find something a little older, but I do not have a good grasp of all the different models over the years (I only started playing a couple of years ago). I was looking at maybe the R7 Limited, or maybe the Burner... any other thoughts? I am willing to consider any brand, I just need some help in looking in the right direction...

I am currently playing an old Adams Tight Lies Driver with a regular shaft... it feels "squishy" to me. I hit the ball straight and about 260 to 270 with this driver. I think if I go with a stiff shaft and a better clubhead, I should be able to do much better.

I just recently replaced my 460cc driver with an old 9.5 Olimar smaller headed driver. That driver head might be too old for what you want. Jury is still out on my decision, but right now my accuracy is still pretty good, and I have gained some distance over the larger 460cc driver I was using. I have some friends who are playing the older Callaways, and TaylorMades who prefer them over the newer stuff. If you can find one, a Nickent driver might be a good thought, and you will get a it for a great, close out price. :D

Last edited:
I am a big fan of the Cleveland XL. Long and staight- and pretty cheap now! Get the Fit-On Red stiff shaft and you should be bombing it. It comes in a Tour version as well.

Plus comming from an Adams you will still find the same kind of forgiveness in the XL (maybe even more since it is a bigger head and newer model than you have now)

559.jpg

Last edited:
I might suggest looking at places like Ebay and some onlin retailers for the clubs you liked. I have found pricing much better than what Roger Dunn offers.