Interesting (maybe) Driver Length Experiment

DaveLeeNC

Reaction score
Handicap
4-6
I build my own golf clubs. As you can see from my sig, I mostly stay with Wishon components. This isn't because I believe that there is absolutely nothing better out there anywhere. I do this because I believe Wishon makes very good stuff - as good as any that I am likely to find on other than an exception basis - and for those exception basis components I just can't afford the cost of trying them all out. Plus I can talk to the Wishon designers on their forum, so that is where I tend to limit my 'search' (usually).

I had been hitting a Wishon 949MC driver head for a couple of years with no reason to change, other than the fact that the crown suddenly/mysteriously cracked. The Wishon warranty practices are wonderful however the 949MC was long out of production, so replacing that head exactly was not possible.

So I set out on an experiment where I tried out four different heads

- Wishon 949MC (ebay - used)
- Wishon 925GRT
- Wishon 919Thi
- Alpha 830.2 (used, just for grins)

All of these clubs were in the 10-11 degree loft range and similarly shafted. I ended up with preferring the 925GRT (actually 2 of them - I have another 925GRT at 1.5* lower loft that I play on windy days).

But the Alpha was interesting since it had was very light (194 grams vs. 200+ for the other heads). This makes for an interesting "long driver" (as in driver length) option as you can build a 194'ish gram head driver with a 55 gram shaft to a reasonable swingweight. I have (twice now) tried short driver (43-44" vs. my normal 45") experiments and just don't like short drivers. I have tried to vary the flex and SW - I just don't like'em. They hit shorter, they (surprisingly) don't seem to be any straighter, and they dont' feel good to me. So if shorter is worse, maybe longer is better.