Questions on driver fitting...

chilly

Reaction score
Handicap
I started playing golf seriously April of this year, having played around 2 rounds per year prior to this. Basically, I grabbed a Callaway X460 9* off the used club rack so I had a decent driver this year, but never really had a swing that let me hit driver. Recently I've been working on my swing and have had some success, I now have enough consistency to be able to tell a difference in clubs, versus hitting bad shot after bad shot regardless of what driver I picked up.

Anyway, I went for a quick driver fitting from Golf Galaxy a few weeks ago. I had hit in their simulator, but this was my first time in the actual launch monitor. The results were AVE SS = 117.5mph, launch was 11* average, distance (with roll) = 276yds. I was surprised at the swing speed, and launch angle. I didn't think my SS was in that range, and on course I hit all clubs very high, including driver which doesn't jive with the launch figures. My goal has been to get driver trajectory down, it's not necessarily ballooning, but it definitely isn't a boring type ball flight.

I hit a few head/shaft combos, the best (in a small sample size) being an Xstiff Motore F1 (factory) in a R9 TP. Problem was the monitor still showed this as a 11* launch combo, still only 275yds. The Xstiff definitely brought my dispersion in (I play Stiff shafts), I averaged 8yds from centerline according to launch versus around 12-13yd dispersion with Stiffs (in general). My average spin with most shafts was around 3200, the Motore/R9 combo got me to 2800. The driver distance is a bit odd because I hit my 18.5* 5wd 250-255yds pretty consistently, 15.5* 3wd 260-265. These are UST V2 HL shafts that hit the ball high, which is fine because I hit them off the deck and like the trajectory to get the ball up and land softly.