Forged Question...

imscottr

I Like Show Tunes!
Reaction score
Handicap
I’m sorry if this has been asked before – I did a quick search and couldn’t find anything. (Except comparison between cast and forged.)

I’m looking to purchase some new irons in the spring. I really love the Mizuno MX 200 or MX 300. (Still torn between the two.) I just so happen to browse the used club section at my local golf shop, and noticed some forged irons they had for sale. (Mizuno, Titleist, etc.) Upon inspection, I noticed that all of the irons had some pretty good marks on the sole of the club. Some, more severe than others. Before taking lessons and actually learning to hit the ball, I moved a LOT of earth with my Taylor Made RAC OS irons. It’s hard to say what all I hit when hitting an inch below the ground with those irons. I know they’re cast, but they don’t have any marks like that. I’m no metal expert, but is this normal? Like the metal is soft? I’d hate to spend $800 on irons only to have them looked all hacked up.

Thanks for any input you have!
Scott

Softer metal will always get nicked up a little more and many forged irons use softer metals.

yeah, that's pretty normal

most forged irons will get dinged up over time just by the simple act of clanging around in your bag while walking

Ah, I see. Well, at least I know this going in. I hit all my tee shots off tee's on par 3's. I wonder if that will mark it up too?

Thanks again for input.
-Scott

I have never noticed damage from hitting tees

but some courses have small rocks in the soil, and those can ding up forged irons too

I've played cast irons that still looked brand new 2 years down the road, but forged irons will definetly show much more wear.

I play Ping Eye 2 irons that are over 20 yo and they still look great. Harder metal??