Will a golf GPS unit bring your game to the next level?

Jimmyboy

lookin' for results!
Reaction score
Handicap
So I guess what I'm asking is if you own a golf gps have you found that it has brought your game to a whole new level? Or has it had little impact on how you play?

Thinking about getting a Golf Buddy GPS just want to know if it will help bring my game to a new level!?:confused2:

I am not sure it has brought my game to the next level, but it certainly has helped. I have been using them for a few years now and our club has them built into the carts now. Playing at a course without them is very hard for me. Knowing my distances to all hazards and around doglegs is a huge plus.

Units such as the Bushnell XGC Pro take it up a notch even further, but most have the same basic functions. Make sure whatever unit you are looking at has more features than just distance to the green. Make sure it atleast does hazards and points of interest.

I don't have a GPS, but my rangefinder helped me a bunch when I started using it. I think anytime you can go from guessing to knowing an actual number can only help you. Will it automatically shave 4 strokes off your game? Doubtful. But it will help you in the long run. You will know your distances better and not have to guess as much which will lead to more GIRs. The game is much easier when you don't have to guess.

A GPS won't make you play better, but you'll know how far things are away.. As I have said before, it is never bad to know your distance. This thread may turn into another GPS versus Rangefinder thread, but either way, knowing yardages is a good thing. The GPS won't give you the distance to the pin, but will give you front, middle and back readings, which for most people's games is plenty. Your better players who can hit it to within a yard or whatever will prefer the rangefinder.