AndyAlso

Reaction score
Handicap
I'm new to THP, but mentioned to folks that I'd post info on a course in Kyoto Japan that uses 9 tee boxes for 18 holes. Sorry, the photos don't show many of the dual holes very well... Not sure if there have been similar posts of "unique" courses before, sorry if this topic is a repeat.

http://www.industrykendo.com/fushimi_momoyama.htm

That is definitely unique. I have played a course with 9 holes, but you played through it twice and on the back you used different tee boxes. Par 3's turned in to 4's. Par 4's to 5's and Par 5's turned in to 3's. Etc.

It is different. Never played a course like that.

Kind of like the doulbe greens at St. Andrews, but you play them from different directions coming in and going out. The 9th at Pacific Dunes has two greens but you only play to the one designated on the tee box.

What's really cool about it is the price for a public course in pretty good shape. It cost me around $25 US last year to play 9 holes with borrowed clubs, included breakfast (one of the images) and use of the locker room. The one missing key shot- the walk from the 9th/18th hole is around 150 yards uphill, but you do it by standing on a motorized conveyor belt. I'll get a sot of it this summer.