Rule 9 - Play your ball as it lies

Daluteh

Touring Purple - 2024 Bag Boy Championship
Albatross 2024 Club
Reaction score
I know I’ve seen some talk about balls in just the worst positions, or the most awkward spots.

Where’s someplace crazy that you have had to play out of? How did it go?

IMG_2227.jpeg

From yesterday’s round. First par 3, only 150 or so yards. Poorly struck 6i leaves me still 60 from the green, but at least I didn’t go in the drink.

Walk up to it and I see nothing other than a damn alligator! Don’t worry though I just took a trip to the Everglades so I’m basically an expert, I learned that I don’t need to be the fastest in my group, just can’t be the slowest when running away.

So here we’ve got us a 48* wedge to get it up on the green, due to keeping a side eye on the gator I still landed short and ended up with this picture and a double bogey for my troubles.

I improve unfortunate lies as I play by the casual rules of golf (and don’t compete against anyone).

No pics but years ago in a big money event I had a ball that came to rest literally touching a 9'+ gator that was completely out of the water sunning itself. Half on the fairway, half in the first cut. Jackasses tried to make me take an unplayable. Thank God there was a local gator rule on the scorecard.....

Last edited:
This nearly vertical lie at Ballyhack last year. No way in God's green earth that I'm getting it out from that...I didn't either. Our caddy couldn't believe the ball stayed up where it was. He said the point of the smooth sand was to make the ball roll back down.

PXL_20230811_155345626.jpg

No pics but years ago in a big money event I had a ball that came to rest literally touching a 9'+ gator that was completely out of the water sunning itself. Half on the fairway, half in the first cut. Jackasses tried to make me take an unplayable. Thank God there was a local gator rule on the scorecard.....
IMG_0475.jpeg
Moveable obstruction?