To play or not to play ?

farmgolf

Reaction score
Handicap
high
Hi There!

I am new to this great forum. I come from Slovenia. There are several nice golf courses in our country now, but 20 years ago there were only 2, so when I saw this new interesting sport of golf on TV , I managed to get one club and a ball, went to some open land at some farm and did my first swings :) - so the nick is explained. Later I made golf exam and took lessons with pro (some 15 years ago), played some but I was not satisfied with my progress. So some years I played 3 or 4 rounds, or just went to range, others I didn't touch golf clubs. I like to be on the golf course, but not being able to hit many good shots can be disheartening. This year it is again repeat..had some promising days at the range, so yestredays went to 18 holes. The score was .around 120 shots:banghead: I dont have problem with par 3s, I can play them in 3 to 5 shots.

Problem is with pars 4 and 5, I am happy to play 6 shots at par 4. I guess my problem is that I dont hit ball very far, probably some 130 yards with 6 iron from tee. And it gets shorter without tee.

Comparing to that my pitching, chips and putting is better.

Cheers!

Last edited:
Welcome to the forum! Tons of great info here to help your game from equipment to swing tips. Best bet is to look into the threads, soak in what you can, and fire away some questions. Glad to have you.

Welcome to THP, I would venture a guess that by your registering here you have answered the question of "to play or not to play" as Mc said soak up what you can here, ask questions and get out there on the course, keep us posted on how it goes.

Welcome! I hope you continue to play as you said you enjoy being on the course. For most of us here I think there are few places we would rather be.